Is LUCIFER the NEXT FABIO?! My thoughts on The Mark of Abel by Viola Ryan

Late as usual. I promised this review in March. Technically today is still March, but this is well past the intended date. It has been a busy month and my brain is spazzed. So F_ it. I am just gonna write and whatever comes out is what it is (that is sort of the concept oft his site anyhow)

I never read Vampire fiction. So why did I read this book?

My cousin wrote it! And she sent me an electronic copy for free! <— NOT the reasons I read it. I was HOOKED BY THE DESCRIPTION.

“Lucifer is fed up with humanity. He created hell to deter evil, but man’s inhumanity is only escalating. He just wants to return home to heaven, but ever since that little problem in the Garden of Eden, the Pearly Gates remain firmly shut to him…”
“…Janie’s a frustrated artist and college art teacher who wants two things—a guy she can show her paintings to and a night without nightmares. Each nightmare plagues her until she paints it. She doesn’t realize these paintings are key to unlocking her destiny, one that could redeem the original fallen angel.”
[Click here for the full description and more]

The concept of Hell as intended to save humanity.
The concept of Lucifer as compassionate.
The possibility he could get back into heaven.
And who is this artist?

Oh, Lucifer also happens to be the world’s first vampire…
I was intrigued.

What is it about??

This novel combines religion, history, art, and the paranormal with romance and a plot that kept me guessing. The concepts of Heaven and Hell, God and Satan, good and evil, real and surreal are turned upside down, inside out, and twisted in the most unique ways.

Viola Ryan is not shy about straying from traditional bible stories and mythology. Most notably, Luke (Lucifer) is a good guy! God, well I am up in the air on that one. He doesn’t seem all that fair at times and Luke let’s him know. Telling off God? Who hasn’t wanted to do that at least once?!

You don’t have to be well-versed in the bible or a student of art history to follow this novel. The necessary info is descriptively woven in to a plot made believable through strong character development.

I Love These Characters!

FABIO?! REALLY?! Ok. I should apologize to my cousin for comparing her hero to the most clichéd of the romance novel cover men. In all fairness, Fabio did sell a lot of books (those were books he was plastered all over, right?) And there is that part about Luke (Lucifer) putting the moves on Janie (the artist) in front of a fireplace in his hugely impressive house. Hmmmm…

Luke – Lucifer as a romantic hero, and a vampire to boot! Far from an evil soul-stealing demon, Luke is romantic, caring, frustrated, and misunderstood. Plus tall, dark, and handsome of course. What woman wouldn’t fall for him? I found myself rooting for him. Talk about sympathy for the devil!

Janie – The artist. Art teacher and struggling artist, all she wants to do is paint pretty pictures and sleep through the night. But she is plagued with nightmares and canvases full of disturbing images. She is plain, insecure, and not very adventurous. Enter Luke and all that changes.

Cyndi and Maggie – These are what I consider the BFFs (Janie’s and Luke’s respectively). These girls have sex, spunk, adventure, and more. You never know what they will say or do next, but you can be sure it won’t be boring.

The other characters, from Eve to an unassuming coed, are written in a way that makes you think you have known them for years. You will feel for them, even with them, as they guide you through Luke’s quest and Janie’s journey.

A Devoted Fan… I guess I like Vampire Novels after all.

The Mark of Abel took quite a bit of willingness to suspend disbelief on my part (guess that goes for any book with vampires). The amazing characters and interesting concepts made it effortless and enjoyable. I was drawn in by the description and pulled right through to the unpredictable end that left me wanting more!

Visit http://www.violaryan.com/ –  to learn more about Viola Ryan and The Mark of Abel.  Be sure to check out her awesome ARTWORK too!

2 responses to “Is LUCIFER the NEXT FABIO?! My thoughts on The Mark of Abel by Viola Ryan

  1. I have not read many Vampire novels either. I’m thinking they might scare me.. but this one does sound good. I like the way you break down who the characters are so readers can understand more. Cool book concept too!

    • Hi Christy! This book is definitely not scary. I really liked the concept and I am glad I decided to read it. It is fun to read different sorts of things. The characters really are great and I wanted to reveal a little about them to maybe generate more interest in the book. She is already working on the sequel. Of course I will be reading it.

Leave a Reply

